I can’t believe I’ve finished the program! I started out thinking that I would be able to do it, but some part of me also wondered how hard it would be, and kind of expected me to lose interest halfway through.

I’m so proud of myself. I never thought of myself as a runner, or that I could ever actually learn to enjoy running.

Here’s how my final week went:

Day #1 (run 4.43 kilometers)

I was so stressed out about this run, that I even had trouble sleeping the night before because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I think that the closer I was getting to the end, the more I started to worry that I just couldn’t finish the program.

After a pretty crappy sleep, I ended up getting up early (while my family was all still sleeping) and left the house around 7:30 to start my run. It turned out to be really nice. The air had a nice autumn crispness to it, and the trails were quiet. It ended up being a really nice way to start my morning.

I even managed to crush all my previous goals. Not only did I run 450 meters more than I had ever before, but I also ran the whole route in my fastest time (8 minutes, 13 second per kilometer). I was amazed at how well I did at a run that I was really scared to do. WHEN will I stop doubting myself!?!

day1

Day #2 (run 4.43 kilometers)

I ended up doing this run twice…or, at least I think I did. The app that I’ve been using for the last couple weeks wasn’t working properly, so I didn’t know how fast I was going, or how far I had run. So, I just ended up doing the route that I did above, in order to try to continue my training as best as I could.  For the next run, I was going to run 5k, but the app still wasn’t working, so I did the same thing.

Day #3 (run 5 kilometers)

The big day was here! I was a little nervous, as I didn’t really trust my running app after it not working properly for the past two runs. But, I was determined to at least try to run the 5k.

Not only did I run the whole 5k, but I CRUSHED my goals! I managed to not only run my furthest distance, but my average pace was also the fastest to date (under 8 minutes per km!). The last kilometer seemed to go by really quickly. I think this was because I knew that I was so close to accomplishing my goal that I was so proud of myself and was able to push myself that much harder. The last 100 meters, I was almost sprinting, because I felt so great, and could literally see the finish line of my goal a head of me. I never in a million years thought that I could do this. But I did. And if felt amazing.

sept22_________________________________________________________________________________________________

FINAL THOUGHTS ON C25K

I highly recommend this program to anybody who’s ever wanted to learn how to run. It eases you into running so gently and easily that each week you get better and better, and surprise yourself at how much further you’re able to run.

I also like the fact that I could repeat weeks, if needed. My advice here is to always try current run, and if it’s just too much of a challenge, then go back and repeat the previous week. I often thought that I wasn’t up for the current challenge, but always surprised myself when I was able to do it.

If you really want to run 5 kilometers in the 8 weeks, then I strongly urge you to try to run for distance, rather than time. If you just want to run for 30 minutes, then run for time. Pick one and stick with it. I think the reason I had such trouble with my week 7 runs was because I switched to running for distance, rather than for time because I really wanted to run 5 kilometers in my last week. Although, that being said, I was able to do it. It just wasn’t very enjoyable.

This is the best thing I’ve done for myself in a long, long time. And if I can learn how to run, then ANYBODY can.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

See all my previous c25k posts here:
Weeks 1 and 2Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, and Week 7

