This week was probably the most challenging week of the program, so far. I was kind of not thinking, and decided to run for distance this week. The previous six weeks I had been running for time.

It was really challenging because I went from running 22 minutes for my longest stretch, to running over 30 minutes. It doesn’t seem like much, but I could definitely feel the difference. My advice for anybody starting the program, is to choose to run for either time or distance, and then follow thorough for the whole program. I think this week wouldn’t have been so challenging if I just had to run for 25 minutes each of the days, rather than 4 kilometers. BUT the reason behind it was because I really just want to run 5 kilometers next week (the final week of the program). Oh well, live and learn.

Day #1 (run 4 kilometers)

I started out at slow, but good pace, and was PUMPED when I managed to finish the 4k with no walking! I honestly wasn’t sure if I was able to run the entire 4k without stopping, but I was so proud of myself for trying and pushing myself.

IMG_6117

Day #2 (run 4 kilometers)

This was probably one of my worst runs of the whole program. I was tired. I ate dinner before running (WHEN WILL I LEARN?!). I had to go to the washroom about half-way through my run, which made the second half soooo uncomfortable. I really hated this run. I felt like I wanted to give up, and almost did so many times during the last 2 kilometers. I actually started crying when I got home because I just felt so crappy.

IMG_6118

Day #3 (run 4 kilometers)

I was really kind of dreading this run. After my horrible experience with my previous run, I was really worried that I just couldn’t do it. But, like all the other times before, I decided to just try and figure it out from there. Not only did I do it, I also ran my fastest time yet!  Double win!

I tried to set my self up for success for this run, by drinking lots of water throughout the day, not eating dinner before (I had a banana, cucumbers, and tomatoes on my commute home to give me the energy I needed), and to make sure that I didn’t have to go to the washroom before heading out. I think all of these things gave me exactly what I needed to complete this goal.

IMG_6119

