You may have noticed that I’ve recently been trying out a couple of new blog names. I felt that I needed a fresh face for my little sliver of the internet to better reflect my current life.  I think I’ve finally found keeper.

Image

It just so happens that my current life includes an out-of-town husband, an almost half-year old babe, and binge watching Veronica Mars on Netflix.  Exciting, right?

With Trevor working out-of-town for almost two weeks, I’m on my own for dinners. Well, I’m also on my own for breakfasts and lunches too, but that’s normal. Dinners are usually a joint effort. My single-lady dinners too often include a sandwich quickly eaten over the kitchen sink (to avoid dirtying a plate) or ice cream straight out of the tub (don’t judge).

20140627-221304-79984159

This time, however, I was dreaming of a salad that I made a few weeks ago. One of those salads that’s totally healthy, but feels like you’re totally indulging while eating it. One of those salads that gets better the longer it lingers in the fridge.

MEDITERRANEAN CHICKPEA SALAD
adapted from Weight Watchers

The best part about this salad is that it’s so versatile. Add more or less of any ingredient to suit your taste. Feel free to add some red or green onions too!

1 can of chickpeas
1 English cucumber
1/2 red pepper
1 large tomato
Feta cheese (about 1/2 cup)
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
1 Tablespoon of olive oil
A couple handfuls of baby arugula

Drain and rinse the chickpeas and dump into a large bowl.

Chop up the cucumber, pepper, tomatoes, and olives and add them to the chickpeas. Crumble the feta over veggies and add the lemon juice, zest, and olive oil.

Give everything a really good stir. Cover and let sit in the fridge for at least a couple of hours.

Serve over a bed of arugula and enjoy!

PS:  Click here to find out what being a modern mama means to me.

