Do you remember that MTV show “Cribs”?  Is it still on the air and does anybody ever watch MTV anymore?

Anyway, one of my favourite parts about that show was that you often got to peek into the fridges of the different celebrities.  What a person or family has in their fridge can tell you a lot.  It’s almost like a window into their soul.

Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a little bit.  But, for some reason, I find the contents of other’s fridges fascinating.

You’re wondering what’s in my fridge right now, aren’t you?  Well, you’re in luck!  I totally look some pictures today…and I didn’t even edit anything before snapping them.  If I had, I definitely would have added all the fruit that’s sitting in the bowl on our counter to make it look healthier.  But, this is just real life.  And here we go (I suddenly feel so exposed):

fridge1 fridge2
What I realized after taking these pictures was that I totally had all the ingredients that I needed to make a Mexican corn salad.  I discovered this recipe on Pinterest a little while ago and it has quickly become a family favourite.  It’s a great summer side dish that goes with practically everything; not just Mexican food.

photo 5-3

MEXICAN CORN SALAD
adapted from Closet Cooking (via Pinterest)

2 tablespoons butter
3 cups of corn (fresh – from about 4 ears – or frozen – I’ve used both)
1/2 jalapeño, seeded and finely diced
2 tablespoons mayonnaise
minced garlic (~ 1/2 – 1 teaspoon)
1 handful cilantro, chopped
juice and zest of 1 lime
2 tablespoons of feta cheese, crumbled
chilli powder, to taste

Melt the butter in a large skillet and add corn.  Cook until charred (about 6 – 1o minutes).  While the corn is cooking, mix together mayonnaise, garlic, lime zest and juice, and chilli powder in a medium bowl and set aside.  Add jalapeño to the corn and cook for another minute or so.  Add the corn and jalapeño to the mayonnaise mixture and mix together well.  Add feta and cilantro and mix again.  Garnish with a little bit of cilantro and serve warm or at room temperature.

photo 3-6

photo 4-4

Notes:

  1. It turns out that the feta cheese that I had in my fridge was past its prime, so I just left it out and it was totally fine.
  2. The original recipe recommends adding some chopped avocado for extra creaminess.  I haven’t tried it, but I love avocados so I think it would be pretty tasty.
