30weeks

I can’t believe I only have 10(ish) weeks left of pregnancy.  Since finding out that we were expecting in May, time has really flown by.  It boggles my mind that I’m now in my last trimester and that the arrival of our little babe is just on the horizon. 

Let’s see what’s new in baby land:

BABY BELLY

Oh man it just keeps getting bigger and bigger (but I guess that’s the whole point!).  I’m happy that my belly button is still an “innie”, but Hubby keeps telling me that he thinks that it will pop out.  I’m really hoping that it doesn’t.  I’m having a hard time getting up from the couch or the floor, and I notice that I just can’t move as quickly as before.  As much as I’ve grown since the last picture (6 weeks ago), my doctor told me yesterday that I’m measuring smaller than I should be at this point.  I’ve got an ultrasound scheduled for two weeks from now to measure the babe and make sure that everything is okay and that our babe is just on the small side (but still within the normal range).

ENERGY

I’m still feeling really good, but still a little more tired than I’m used to.  I had to start taking an iron supplement (twice a day along with 500 mg of vitamin C) and I did notice a little boost in energy after I had been taking the supplement for a couple of days.  Like I said before though, I’m growing a human, so being more tired at the end of the day just makes sense. 

I still have the energy to be active too, so my down time isn’t spent just laying on the couch.  The household chores are still being done (for now, at least), I’m still going to yoga, and still enjoying a lot of walking.

CRAVINGS

These past few weeks I’ve been craving sweets.  Think, Halloween candy.  I’ve been trying to indulge without going overboard though, and it’s working pretty well.

SLEEPING

It’s definitely getting harder to get a full night’s sleep.  Between having to use the washroom and just waking up in the middle of the night for no reason, I don’t think I sleep through the night any longer (well, maybe the odd night here or there).  The funny thing is, even though I’m sometimes up for a couple of hours in the middle of the night, waking up at my regular time for work doesn’t bother me.  I find that I don’t have any less energy when I lose a couple of hours of sleep, so I’m really not complaining.

CLOTHES

Some days I feel fantastic in my clothes and even rock mainly non-maternity clothes, and other days I feel like no matter what I wear I look like a whale.  I’m really over maternity clothes (why are they so expensive?!?) and really can’t wait until I can fit into my regular wardrobe again.

NURSERY

We’ve finally made some progress in getting the nursery ready.  The walls have been painted, the furniture has been moved in (just waiting on the crib), and the decorations are mostly purchased and waiting to be hung on the walls.  There are still a few little things that I want to buy (such as a lamp and some bookshelves), but for the most part, we’re done!  Not knowing the gender of our babe presented some obvious challenges when deciding what colour to paint and what “theme” to go with.  In the end we chose a soft grey paint colour and a travel theme.  Nice and gender neutral and it will be easy to add gender-specific accents once the babe arrives.  Here’s a peek at some of the art that we’ll be using:

nursery2

