OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m 17 weeks pregnant today – almost half way – yay!  I can’t believe how quickly time is going by lately.  It feels like I was 12 weeks just days ago.  Here are some updates from baby land:

BABY BELLY

My belly is growing, but I’m definitely still in that awkward “is she pregnant or just fat?” stage.  I’m slowly growing out of my non-maternity clothes.  I’m definitely wearing maternity pants exclusively, but I’m still getting away with my old dresses and tops so far, so I’m not sick of my wardrobe – yet.  I feel like my body has changed a lot, even if the changes aren’t fully visible.  I feel a lot bigger than I was pre-pregnancy, I feel like I’ve gained 10 lbs, but I’ve only gained 5 lbs (just the right amount – yay!).

CRAVINGS

The only food that I’ve really craved thus far has been fruit.  I just can’t get enough cherries, peaches, grapes, raspberries, and blackberries.  Thank goodness that we’re in the middle of summer and these wonderful fruits are all deliciously in season.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do in the fall/winter when I can’t get local summer fruit anymore.

I also just really want a deli-style turkey sandwich, runny eggs, sashimi, and a cold beer on a hot summer day, but I think that this is just from the fact that I can’t  have these things – don’t we always want what we can’t have?

Though I haven’t had a lot of cravings, I have had a bunch of food aversions.  Just the thought of chicken makes me want to hurl.  Actually, most meat has been doing that to me lately.  I took one bite out of a taco (made with ground turkey) the other night and couldn’t stomach anymore.  Meat has been the only constant aversion that I’ve had.  Mostly I just don’t feel like eating a whole lot, I could really care less about it, it’s just something I do to keep me (and baby) healthy.  Which is strange for me, since I normally LOVE food!

MORNING SICKNESS

I didn’t really have morning sickness (thank goodness).  I had a tiny bit of nausea and vomited one morning, but that was pretty much it.  I’m considering myself VERY lucky as I know that it can be really horrible for a lot of women.

ENERGY

I thought I knew what being tired felt like, and then I got pregnant.  It wasn’t even just tired, I was constantly fatigued.  I could barely make it through a commute and work day – I would literally come home, eat, and then go to bed.  I would wake up from a solid 8 hours of sleep and feel like I only got 1.  It was really frustrating, but I just resigned myself to the fact that there was nothing I could do about it and I might as well enjoy all the sleep I was getting.  As soon as I hit my second trimester, however, my energy levels started to come back and I felt human again.  I’ve started taking pre-natal yoga classes and got the go-ahead from my doctor to go back to spin classes, which I’m hoping will also help with my energy levels.

