A couple of months ago, almost two to be exact, Hubby and I experienced one of the greatest moments of our lives.  I couldn’t share the news at the time, so I wrote the following in order to capture the events and our feelings – I’m bursting with happiness to finally be able to share this with you:

Yesterday, May 12th (Mother’s Day), on our way home from my parent’s house Hubby and I stopped into Wal-Mart to pick up some random things that we needed.  I grabbed a box of pregnancy tests as I knew that I should probably test later that day to confirm that I wasn’t pregnant.  One moment that clearly stands out in my mind is the cashier giving me a hopeful smile as she slipped the box of pregnancy tests into our shopping bag.  Later that evening, in between dinner and watching the new episode of Game of Thrones I took a couple of minutes to myself to go to the washroom and take the test.  I knew that there was a chance I could be pregnant, but I didn’t feel like this was the month, and I was fully expecting a negative test result.

So, I took the test. I sat it on the bathroom counter and washed my hands and tidied up the bathroom a little bit. After the two minutes had passed, I glanced down at the test. There was a second line, making a “+” sign. It was faint. Almost barely noticeable. I checked the instructions again and immediately started trembling.

I walked out of the washroom and into the living room where Hubby was sitting, waiting for me so we could start watching Game of Thrones. I stood there trying to get the words out, but all that came out were tears. I was trying to say it, but for some reason it felt like it took an eternity for the words to come out. Finally I managed to squeak out “I think I might be pregnant”. Hubby’s face immediately lit up and he gave me a giant hug.

We both went back to the washroom to see the test. It was faint, but there was definitely a “+” visible on the screen. As I was holding the test, Hubby noticed that I was shaking. He hugged me again and let me know how excited he was. I was excited too, but also nervous and scared. Excited that we were finally, maybe, going to be parents. Nervous about the huge shift that our lives might have just taken. Scared that the test was a false positive, or that we were reading it wrong.

We put the test down and started watching television. My mind was a million miles away though. I was furiously google-ing everything from “extremely faint positive pregnancy test” to “what does an evaporation line look like?”. I was pouring over message boards and articles to try to give me some clues as to whether or not the test was, in fact, positive. Nothing helped. The only thing I could think of was that I’ve taken a number of pregnancy test before, and there was always ZERO sign of a second line. However, I had never used this brand before (this was the first non-digital test I took, those things are darn expensive!). Was this normal with this brand? I’ve also heard that any line, even a faint one, is considered a positive test result.

I tried to go to bed, but I wasn’t tired at all. I grabbed my pillows and camped out on the couch in front of the television for a long, mostly sleepless night. I think I drifted off into sleep somewhere around 2 am. I woke up again at 4:30 am and I had to pee badly, so I headed to the washroom. I had one more test left in the box, so I decided to take another test using my “first morning urine” (which is more concentrated so the levels of the pregnancy hormone will be stronger). Sure enough, there was another “+” sign. Except it was a little darker this time (although still very faint). I walked into the bedroom and sat on the side of the bed. I knew Hubby was a little bit awake because he had heard me in the washroom. I whispered “I really think I’m pregnant. I took another test and it was positive again”. He gave me a sleepy hug and then said “That’s so exciting”. He urged me to get some rest, but my whole body was buzzing. I think I got maybe another hour of sleep before I was up again.

All morning while getting ready and trying to concentrate on my work, I felt nervous. I phoned our family doctor’s office when they opened at 9 am and made an appointment for that afternoon. Counting down those hours were torturous.

I couldn’t have been more nervous sitting on that paper-covered bed waiting for our doctor to come into the room. I was so happy to have Hubby there with me; to help put me at ease. When our doctor walked into the room, he was beaming “Do you have some good news for me?” he asked (he knew we were trying). “We don’t know”, I said. I explained everything to him and he seemed to get excited. “Well, it sounds like you do have some good news”. He sent me to get some blood taken so we’d know for sure. He said that he’d call me the next day with the results and to take it easy in the meantime. More waiting. I was so exhausted by the time we got home that I crawled into bed and slept for the next 12 hours straight. Thank goodness. I just couldn’t take another sleepless night.

Tuesday the waiting game began again. At about 1:50 pm when I finally received the call from my doctor. He said “Congratulations, you’re pregnant!”. I was so excited. He wanted me to go for some more blood work the next morning because my levels were very low and he wanted to make sure that everything was progressing normally. So, Hubby and I got our vote on (it was Provincial election day, after all) and then went out for dinner and movie (The Great Gatsby – it was fantastic).  Over dinner we talked about our hopes and dreams for the future.

Long story short – after A LOT of blood work it was determined that everything was (and is!) progressing normally and Hubby and I are both over-the-moon excited about adding another member to our family.  We can’t wait for the crazy roller coaster that is parenthood!

Ultrasound 2
our baby at 9 weeks, 1 day
