I have to confess something:  I’m a reality television junkie.

I’m a young professional, I’m educated,  and I love art and reading.  But, for some reason, super-trashy reality television just does it for me.  I’m not even talking about “quality” reality television like The Bachelor (I also love that show though).  No.  I’m talking about shows like Teen Mom and The Jersey Shore

Something about all the “I don’t got no social life because my baby dady won’t help me with my daughter” just hooks me.  I know, it’s shameful.

You know what’s a good accompaniment for reality television?  Popcorn: my other obsession.

popcorn

The funny thing though?  I don’t own a popcorn maker.  I make my the old-fashioned way: with a little bit of oil over the stovetop.  It’s cheap, fast, and kicks that microwave stuff to the curb.  Sure, you’ve got a pot to wash, but you could also just throw it in the dishwasher if you’re feeling really lazy.

I definitely ate this last night while watching The Bachelor and season 2 of Teen Mom.  Don’t judge.

STOVETOP POPCORN

This takes VERY little time and effort and is a million times better than the microwave stuff.  Plus, you can control the seasonings so you can make it as healthy (or heart-stoppingly delicious) as you want!

2 1/2 tablespoons canola or coconut oil
1/3 cup popcorn kernels

Butter, salt, and/or other seasonings of your choice.

Heat oil and three kernels of corn over medium-high heat (cover the pot).  Once you hear the kernels pop, remove the pan from the heat, add the rest of the kernels, and count to 30.

Add the pot back over the heat and open the lid a little bit to let the steam out.  Gently move the pot back and forth over the heat.  Once there is a couple of seconds between the popping remove from the heat and pour into a large popcorn bowl.

Season and serve.  The possibilities are endless.

