I have mixed feelings about our second day in Munich, for this was the day that we visited the Dachau concentration camp.

remains of the train rails that brought the prisoners into the camp

Hubby, my brother, and I took a train and then a public bus out to the camp. When we got there, everything was eerily quiet. Despite the many, many visitors, all you could hear was was wind in the trees, and the gravel crunching underneath the feet of those paying their respects to the lives lost.

the sign on the camp's entrance door: work will make you free

We started by wandering around for a little while and then took in a short video at the camp's theatre room.  There were many moments in the video where there was nothing but silence and horrifying footage on the screen.  There are images that I saw that I will never, ever be able to forget.
{read more}

