I almost hate to admit this, but after writing about how material things don’t bring me happiness, I went straight to the mall to buy a ridiculously expensive pair of boots.  Yep, I basically have no self control.  When I want something, I want it bad and I will figure out a way to get it, NOW. 

I left the office and walked across the street to the mall* and all I could think about was how awesome these boots were going to look on my feet.  I was outfit planning, I was thinking how awesome it was going to be to hand over my hard-earned money for these beautiful boots.  As soon as I got into the store, I felt another rush of excitement, I couldn’t wait until they were mine.  I tried them on and they fit perfectly.

It was then, as I was looking at myself in the mirror, that I realized that they really wouldn’t make me a happier person.  They wouldn’t change my life in any way, shape, or form.  As soon as I would have walked out of the store with them, I would already be thinking about the next thing that I just HAD to have.  So, I stayed true to myself and I took them off, thanked the clerk, and walked out of the store.  I didn’t spend a single penny.  The really surprising thing?  I didn’t regret it at all once I got back to the office and sat down at my desk.  Actually, it was kind of the opposite, I felt GREAT that I didn’t give into the temptation of beautiful boots.



beautiful boots, just like wearing slippers


To be honest, I also really have Hubby to thank for my self-restraint.  I could imagine the look on his face when I told him how much I paid for foot wear that looks like giant wool socks.  I just couldn’t put the poor guy through that kind of shock.

Another day, another life lesson learned.

*This is where my bad shopping habits come from.  I work beside a mall and I spend every lunch hour there. Can you blame me?

